Posted by: psilva | January 27, 2010

The State of My Blog Address


Readers, distinguished bloggers, various feeds – A year ago this week, I crossed over into double-digit blog entries (a whopping 10 stories at the time but a relative blog newcomer) and was wondering what magical rant would make this Blog Go to Eleven.  Fidgeting with the keyboard and watching the blinking curser as nothing came to mind, I decided to dedicate January 30th as ‘Blog About Your Blog Day.’   The day that all bloggers would share stories, tips and other musings about their own blog.  Since I don’t see it as a #trendingtopic on Twitter, it might not have stuck.  Annual rituals often need a few years to take, so here’s the State of My Blog address in honor of my own made up writing holiday.

www.newyorker.com Last week, my good buddy Michael Sheehan of GoGrid (@HighTechDad on Twitter) wrote about the detailed process he goes through when creating a blog post.  I gotta give him credit for both having a process and actually documenting it since I typically just see a topic/story, fire up Live Writer and tap away.  Often stories come to mind while I’m walking the dog the evening before I post.  I think it has to do with clearing my mind of all the day’s clutter and suddenly it’s like, ‘There it is!!.’  I’ll get home, quickly jot some notes or create a title, sleep on it and write it the next day.  This was one of them.  I typically try to post at least once a week and it’s usually around mid-week.  This blog talks about how Thursday is the best day to post and this one backs it up with some statistical charts.  I’ve read a couple that indicate that Monday’s are not great since everyone is getting back into the work routine, at least for business blogs.  And speaking of Personal vs. Business blogs – Michael’s entry describes his method for personal blogs.  I really don’t have a ‘personal’ blog since most, if not all, my entries are work related and published on F5’s DevCentral.  I do feed WordPress, Ulitzer, Blogger, Posterous and others for greater coverage but our DevCentral community is my main audience.   Even with a business blog, I do tend to incorporate personal stories since what I do as a career does mix with who I am as a person.  I still remember years ago when I worked at the Milwaukee Repertory Theater an Art Director saying, ‘I am not my art!’  Always thought that was funny but interesting. 

Even though this is a F5 branded blog, I do try to keep it focused on technology, trends, ideas and other industry topics instead of a ShamWow ad for BIG-IP.  Most of our readers are familiar with BIG-IP (and learning about the new BIG-IP Edge Gateway announced this week) and I just like to compliment what they already know, offer some new ideas or bring attention to market/technology trends and how F5 solves some of these.  Nothing too technical, security focused, a bit of humor, some personal insight and our daily lives – that’s the State of My Blog 2010.  How about yours?

And here are a few other stories I considered writing about this week:

Until next time…

ps

Technorati Tags: Pete Silva,F5,security,application security,network security,blogging,blogs

Digg This
Leave a Reply

Categories

